Social media giant Meta has announced new privacy features for WhatsApp users. Users of the online messaging app will have the option to control who can see their online status, leave group chats in silence, and block screenshots on View Once messages.
This will help keep WhatsApp messaging as private and secure as face-to-face conversations, according to Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg in a statement.
Zuckerberg said, “New privacy features coming to WhatsApp; exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots on view once messages.
He also said We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.
He added that the “Leave Groups Silently” features on WhatsApp will allow users to leave a group in private without having to inform everyone.
From now, only the admins will be notified when a member of the group leaves, as opposed to the entire group.
He said this month, the feature will begin to roll out to all users internationally, starting in the UK.