South Africa Seeks Nigeria’s Support for Non Permanent Seat in UN security Council

South Africa has appealed to Nigeria and other countries within and outside Africa to support its bid for the non-permanent seat in the United Nations Security Council for the term 2019-2020.

The Security Council is one of the six principal organs of the UN and is charged with the maintenance of international peace and security.

It has 15 members, comprising five permanent and 10 non-permanent members. No African country has a permanent representative.

The five permanent members are Russia, UK, France, China and the United States.The 2018 elections for non-permanent seats would hold on Friday at United Nations Headquarters in New York City.

Addressing a group of African diplomats in Abuja, South African Acting High Commissioner to Nigeria, Mr Bobby Moroe, said the country was vying for the seat to build on the legacy of President Nelson Mandela and his commitment to dialogue and negotiations as the only way to achieve lasting peace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *