NPF Now has 8-Departments, 8-DIGs, 17-Zonal Commands, 4 FCID Annexes

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Nigeria Police force now has 8-Departments, 8-DIGs, 17-Zonal Commands and 4-FCID Annexes As part of efforts at addressing threats posed by the dynamics of crimes in the country and the full implementation of the Federal Government Community Policing initiative.

This statement is released by DCP Frank Mba force public relations officer force headquarters Abuja. He said the Federal Government of Nigeria has approved the reorganization of the Nigeria Police Force.

This reorganization includes full autonomy of the Force Intelligence Bureau creation of five additional Police Zonal Command Headquarters and the decentralization of the Force Criminal Intelligence and Investigations Department.
By this re-organization, the FIB, which was previously a section under the FCIID, is now a full-fledged Department of the Force to be headed by a Deputy Inspector-General of Police (DIG).

With this new arrangement, the Nigeria Police Force now has eight Departments and each is headed by a DIG.
The Departments are: Department of Finance and Administration Department of Operations Department of Logistics and Supply Force Criminal Investigations Department, Department of Training and Development Department of Research and Planning Department of Information and Communication Technology, Force Intelligence Department.

The Federal Government also approved the further decentralization of the FCID with the establishment of two additional offices in Enugu and Gombe States. While the office in Enugu is expected to take care of investigations of major crimes emanating from the South-East and South-South geo-political zones, the office in Gombe will take care of the North-East geo-political zone.

Leave a Reply