Nigeria: Buhari Tasks APPO Member Countries to Be Objective

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

President Muhammadu Buhari has called on African Petroleum Producers Association member countries to be objective in taking a decision for the growth of the oil and gas industry in the continent.

President Buhari made the call while declaring open APPO Council of Ministers meeting in Abuja.

The president was represented by the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources Chief Timipre Sylva.

He said Africa has 600 million out of the 850 million people in the world who do not have access to modern energy and there is need to exploit what we have to take our people out of the energy poverty.

In his remarks, Mr Mahaman Gaya, APPO Secretary-General, commended Nigeria for the role it played in ensuring that APPO existed and for hosting the meeting.

The APPO member countries are Nigeria, Algeria, Angola, Benin, Cameroon, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Libya, Niger, Côte d’Ivoire, Mauritania, Sudan, Garbon, Chad, Egypt,  Ghana, DR Congo and South Africa.

Leave a Reply