Nigeria: 7 Borno House of Representatives Members Yet to Sponsor Bill

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

A study conducted by a leading daily newspaper in Nigeria has revealed that of the three hundred and sixty members of the House of Representatives in the country one hundred and sixty one are yet to sponsor any bill almost three years after assuming office.

The 161 lawmakers who did not sponsor any bill also pocketed N32 billion in allowances and salaries with each member receiving N7.6 million as running and overhead cost and additional N660 000 as salary monthly which translates to each member receiving N214.7 million for the period of 26 months.

In Borno State seven members out of the 10 have no bills so far. They include Mahmud Lawan Maina, Jibrin Santumari, Mohammad Nur Sheriff, Muktari Betara, Mohammad Sanda, Mallam Bukar Gana and Abdulkadir Rahis.

Leave a Reply